15) John “B” AKA “The Riddler” – John 1:19-34

Join me as I take a walk through the pages of Matthew, Mark, Luke, & John, (aka the “Gospels”) in a Chronological Order and try to grow closer to, and learn more about Jesus.  Feel free to go back and read the INTRO ABOUT THIS SERIES to understand where all this came from for me.

This next episode is a lil tricky since we have seen in some of our earlier episodes that Jesus came to John the Baptist to be baptized and then Jesus headed out into the desert to be tempted.  It seems that all of these passages are talking about things that are happening around about the same time – so there might not be as “technical” a chronological timeline – or simply that Jesus came back through and John pointed him out to everyone so they would finally know.

We find the story for today in John 1:19-34 and there is some pretty cool & extremely important stuff going down!

So here is old John the Baptist (John “B”) hanging out in the desert – doing his thing of preaching repentance to the people.  So the Jewish leaders went out to talk with good ole John.  They were trying to find out who he was – is he Elijah? – NOPE – a prophet? – wrong again – well then WHO THE HECK ARE YA?

I love it – John is kind of messing with their heads – look @ his answer (that can be found from the Prophet Isaiah) – “I am the voice of one calling in the desert, ‘Make straight the way for the Lord.’ “

John was like the biblical version of the “Riddler” – he never seemed to give a straight answer – but at the same time that’s EXACTLY what he was doing – giving the REAL ANSWER! (and I DON’T mean Allen Iverson!)

So then the religious leaders were all about how in the world John could go around baptizing if he wasn’t the Christ, or Elijah, or even a prophet?  Then John smacked em again with a lil 411 – he was merely baptizing with water as a sign of the people’s repentance.  Then he told them a great line – verse 26-27:

“but among you stands one you do not know. 27He is the one who comes after me, the thongs of whose sandals I am not worthy to untie.”

MAN – how cool is that – what if we all TRULY felt that way about Jesus!  John was like “YOU DON’T EVEN KNOW!”  Jesus was right there amongst them (not literally at that moment but the idea was that the religious leaders knew of & about him but didn’t really KNOW him – how many of us are like that???)

Then look what happens the next day – OH YEAH – Jesus rolls up on the scene.  Then we see John “B” dropping a lil more RIDDLER-TYPE knowledge on the people – I can’t top it so let me just share what he said:

“Look, the Lamb of God, who takes away the sin of the world! 30This is the one I meant when I said, ‘A man who comes after me has surpassed me because he was before me.’ 31I myself did not know him, but the reason I came baptizing with water was that he might be revealed to Israel.”

32Then John gave this testimony: “I saw the Spirit come down from heaven as a dove and remain on him. 33I would not have known him, except that the one who sent me to baptize with water told me, ‘The man on whom you see the Spirit come down and remain is he who will baptize with the Holy Spirit.’ 34I have seen and I testify that this is the Son of God.”

Man that is some GOOD STUFF – and we “DON’T EVEN KNOW” how important this claim the John made in vs. 34 was.  By us not living in the context of that day and age when the Jewish people had waited for HUNDREDS of years for the Christ – the Messiah to come – and now here was John proclaiming “I TESTIFY THAT THIS IS THE SON OF GOD”!!  Man that was some huge BOLD STUFF!

But it was not only huge for them, it is also huge for us – and my hope and prayer is that we actually DO KNOW – we not only know ABOUT HIM but we actually get to KNOW HIM!  He is the “Lamb of God – who has taken away the sins of the world”

Jesus is the ANSWER to the great RIDDLE – so do ya know Him?

Leave a comment

Filed under On An Island With Jesus

Leave a Reply

