Like the Barenaked Ladies…

once sang “It’s been one week since ya looked at me” – well maybe, at least looked at my post about getting a more healthy lifestyle!

So now this is week #1’s update:  

In the last 8 days I have successfully had NO LESS than 1 Gallon of water to drink each day (some days as much as 1.25 gallons), the only other liquid refreshment consisted of the milk I had with cereal a few mornings, a few glasses of orange juice with said meals, and only 1 glass of sweet tea and that was IT!  My eating habits improved slightly with the addition of whole wheat/whole grain breads – deli meat & cheese cut fresh at the deli counter – more apples eaten than in probably the last 3 years combined – grapes interspersed with some of my meals instead of chips – trying to eat a healthier “trail mix/snack mix” with raisins and nuts as opposed to chips – and finally today topped off with a grilled chicken caesar salad.

I was able to be a lot more regular hitting the exercise routine with 4 nights, I think, of the treadmill and then one night playing about 2 hours of sand volleyball.

I failed miserably the first few nights at getting to bed at a decent time – I got to bed way later than normal but overall was a lil better than 50/50 on getting up earlier.  I finally as of tonight have gotten in a really good rhythm of catching up on some reading & note taking I had intended too and have also moved along nicely in a great book I’m reading (you can always keep check on what I’m reading on my READING LIST)

And now we will see what all of this has resulted in – the official Wednesday Weigh in (last week started @ 235)

Drumroll please…………………………..

As of today Wednesday, June 30th, 2010 my weight is:  234.5

(My scale counts whole & half pounds and I will take that 1/2 pound!)

Okay Okay so not as great as I’d hoped – only 1/2 pound actually lost – but again I have to remind myself my ultimate goal is not SIMPLY weight loss – it is overall better health.  I do feel like it made a difference eating better – I guess to ultimately get greater weight loss I’ll have to watch the “portion” sizes a lil more closely.  For someone with a “results oriented” personality it will get frustrating if I don’t lose some weight though!  I guess for this first week I am going to settle to be thrilled that I didn’t GAIN any weight, actually lost a lil – I did get better at choosing to eat more healthy and I guess I could say I did overall feel better too.

Stay tuned for more episodes of “Healthy or Not Here I Come” – next week (7/7 I’ll be in camp so there won’t be an update – so be ready for 7/14)

2 Comments

Filed under Healthy Or Not Here I Come, My So Called Life

2 responses to “Like the Barenaked Ladies…

  1. Carrie Keiter

    Great job Neal! I’m excited to see you want to be healthier! Be careful with ceasar salads, they tend to not be as healthy as you might think. You should get the “Restaurants” app on your phone. It doesn’t have every place, but the ones it does it gives you the nutrition information. Very helpful when making decisions on what to eat. While I am giving advice, make sure you weigh yourself first thing in the morning for the most acurate weight. Keep up the good work!

  2. Lisa Bennett

    Wow!! I am sooooo impressed!!! Obviously I had missed several days worth of blog entries (summer schedule does that to me!) – I went back and caught up on your health pursuit! Honestly NEVER thought I would hear some of that stuff come out of your mouth! =) Way to go, bro!!! I’m proud of you!

Leave a Reply

