All about that Name…

AD Alligood sign shoes

As I recently wrapped up my time serving alongside the great people of Mid-Atlantic Christian University, I couldn’t help but reflect on many tremendous memories and milestones.  Ten years, over 2 different stints, being on staff.  Including my own time attending this fine institution, I had been around for 14 graduation cycles under 2 different administrations.  In all, approximately 31 of my 41 years of life had been spent in this quaint little town immersed in the Christ-centered culture of RBC/MACU.  As I looked out over the expanse of my life here – I could do nothing but be overwhelmed by a lesson so fitting for being shared today – Father’s Day 2017!

Without the heritage of fine fathers in my own life, I simply would not be able to grasp the fact that it is truly ALL ABOUT THAT NAME!

IMG_3540

I’m not sure how many people who have walked our beautiful campus have ever known this, but my dad’s father’s name – Milton G. Alligood – is carefully carved on the 2 stone signs of the school. Like a powerful reminder to me of our own family’s deep roots in the foundation of this fine institution.

My own father’s fingerprints also literally litter the landscape of the magnificently manicured campus.

Alligood Home Sign

Our family name, which hovers over the doorway of the only earthly home our family has ever known, since my parent’s chose to serve RBC/MACU sacrificially for the last 5 decades, is synonymous with the values for the Kingdom work being done at MACU.

These images could have been overwhelmingly oppressive to live up to, but instead my hope was to allow them to be powerful prods to hold these names in high esteem.

There is an old school song which states
“I want to leave a legacy, how will they remember me” that has rung out in my own ears through the years.
Could I live up to the legacy of the name on the stone and the name on our home?

But in recent days I have been reminded that the song lyrics could be tweaked slightly,
“I want to leave a legacy, it is NOT IMPORTANT how they remember me”, because plain and simple it is NOT about the name on the STONE, nor about the name on our HOME, but it is ALL ABOUT THAT NAME – ON THE THRONE!

Matthew 5:14-16
“You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. 15 Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. 16 In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your FATHER IN HEAVEN.”

Neal and DadI am so very thankful that my own earthly heritage of fathers has driven me to do my best (even though I fail so often) to represent the name of our Heavenly Father!

My simple hope and prayer is that yes, while some people sit with a smile on their face as they remember our simple family name – they will instead be drawn to the ONE NAME that matters because of how we lived and loved and served.

I cannot thank my own father – Phillip Alligood enough for teaching me this powerful principle, not merely with words, but more importantly through his own actions!

To the name of our Heavenly Father, Be the Glory – GREAT THINGS HE HATH DONE!

Leave a comment

Filed under Family Stuff, MACU Stuff

Leave a comment